Behold Our God

by beaded09

I was sitting in Sunday School a few Sundays back, listening to our teacher speak on the exchange between Jesus and Pilate (found in John 18). I suppose it was a good discussion, but I really can’t attest to that. That’s not a reflection on my teacher’s abilities at all; I was distracted.

As we began the discussion regarding the question Pilate posed, “Are you King of the Jews?” I heard the praise band rehearsing “Behold Our God.” As I listened, I contemplated the irony of the fact that the Israelites were delivering up the Messiah they had prayed for for so long. Here was their God and they wanted nothing to do with Him. They offered Him up to be crucified at the hands of Pilate. They were, in essence, saying, “Behold our God” except they were mocking the very One who was sent to save them. They rejected their Messiah.

There have been many times when I’ve questioned the mental capacity of the Israelites. How could they not see that God had chosen them? How could they not see that Christ was the Messiah? Each time I’ve been critical of the Israelites, I’ve been startled with the recognition that I have been just as blind. This particular Sunday, as I listened to “Behold Our God,” I thought about Pilate questioning Jesus and the Israelites standing outside and I was once again startled by my own unbelief. There have been times, even recent times, when I have questioned the work of His hands when things haven’t gone my way or when what I saw coming didn’t seem to make sense. I have read His Word and believed, but walked away and forgotten the great truths found in His Word. I have, in my own way, scoffed and said, “Are you King of the Jews?” Really, I should have been saying, “Behold my God!!”

Verse 1
Who has held the oceans in His hands?
Who has numbered every grain of sand?
Kings and nations tremble at His voice
All creation rises to rejoice

Chorus
Behold our God seated on His throne
Come, let us adore Him
Behold our King—nothing can compare
Come, let us adore Him

Verse 2
Who has given counsel to the Lord?
Who can question any of His words?
Who can teach the One who knows all things?
Who can fathom all His wondrous deeds?

Verse 3
Who has felt the nails upon His hands?
Bearing all the guilt of sinful man
God eternal, humbled to the grave
Jesus, Savior, risen now to reign

Tag
You will reign forever
Let Your glory fill the earth

